

2020 NOMINATING COMMITTEE REPORT

The Nominating Committee strives to create a nominating process that is inclusive of all members of CPHR BC & Yukon. Earlier this year the Nominating Committee sought expressions of interest from members of the Association who wished to be considered for nomination to the Board.

When proposing nominees for election to the Board, the Nominating Committee and the Board consider the following: membership in good standing in CPHR BC & Yukon, CPHR designation, previous board of directors experience (on the CPHR BC & Yukon Board or on the board of directors of other organizations), commitment to CPHR BC & Yukon, senior human resources and general business leadership roles, geography, demographics and diversity, in addition to such personal characteristics as integrity, commitment, inclusiveness, and strategic vision and leadership capabilities.

Our Bylaws provide for a Board comprised of a minimum of 3 and a maximum of 18 Directors, one of whom shall be the immediate Past Chair, and one of whom shall be a public representative Director, appointed under Bylaw 6.14. We currently have 16 Directors which includes the public representative Director, but this year the board has approved having 12 directors, more in line with previous years totals, and good corporate governance, given the size of our organization.

In accordance with our Bylaws, the following Directors are in the middle of their terms of office and are continuing on the Board:

- 1. Sue Ryan, FCPHR, Chair
- 2. Gordan Chan
- 3. Laura Thurnheer, CPHR
- 4. Kristi Searle, CPHR
- 5. Chervl Pelletier, CPHR
- 6. Robin Turnill, CPHR
- 7. Mandie La Montagne, CPHR
- 8. Jacquie Griffiths, CPHR
- 9. Naz Kullar, CPHR

In accordance with our Bylaws; Rita Ferrara, CPHR; and Kevin Howlett, CPHR; will have completed their current term of office in June 2020, and are eligible for re–election for further terms. Geoff Howard, CPHR has decided to step off the Board following his term end in June 2020. We thank him for his service to the Association and Profession.

There are therefore, three new position available for election at the 2020 Annual General Meeting.

The Nominating Committee is thus pleased to recommend the following candidates for election who are current Board members and who are eligible for re-election pursuant to our Bylaws:

Rita Ferrara, CPHR; for a 2-year term Kevin Howlett, CPHR; for a 2-year term

The Nominating Committee is also pleased to recommend the following candidate for election to fill the remaining seat for the following terms:

Cindy Dopson, CPHR; for a 1-year term

Respectfully submitted by the CPHR BC & Yukon Nominating Committee:

Barb Bahry, FCPHR, Chair of the Nominating Committee Susan Ryan, FCPHR Susan Alley, CPHR Gordon Orlikow, CPHR Laura Thurnheer, CPHR